Starting a construction business is a lucrative venture with plenty of opportunities. It’s the best way to add value to the built environment while doing what you love. All states, including West Virginia, have regulations governing the construction industry.
A contractor’s license is a crucial document if you’re looking to start a construction business in West Virginia. This way, you comply with the state regulations!
A license makes you more credible and outstanding in the competitive construction industry. This is the sure way to close better deals and contracts and influence your bottom line significantly.
The process of obtaining a contractor’s license in West Virginia is complex. It’s easy to give up if you don’t know how to do it. We’ve put together this guide to point you in the right direction.
So, let’s get to it!
“A contractor is any person with the ability to submit a bid to construct, alter, repair, add to, subtract from, improve, move, wreck or demolish any building, highway, road, railroad, structure, or excavation associated with a project, development or improvement valued at $5,000 or more for residential work or $25,000 or more for commercial work.”
A contractor’s license is mandatory in West Virginia if you’re;
- An electrical contractor.
- A plumbing contractor.
- A Piping contractor.
- HVAC contractor.
- General Building contractor.
- A Multifamily Building contractor.
- Residential contractor.
The minimum contract value for electrical, HVAC, Multifamily building, and residential contractors is $1,000. The threshold starts at $5,000 for other contractors.
Obtaining a West Virginia contractor’s license can be a hassle. Below is the step-by-step guide on how to do it yourself!
The first step is to contact the West Virginia licensing board to provide your scope of work. This way, you can verify your license classification and the exam type you should take. You should send your request via CLBoard@wv.gov.
Schedule to take exams with Contractor Training Center. You need to be a business owner or employee to take this exam. You also need to show payroll records as proof for a full-time employee.
You should contact the West Virginia State Tax Department to obtain a business registration tax number.
Some businesses need to register with the West Virginia Secretary of State. You’ll want to contact a business consultant at (866) 767-8683) to check if you must register yours.
West Virginia law requires you to provide proof of Workers’ Compensation and Unemployment Compensation for all your employees. So, contact Workforce West Virginia at (304) 558-2451 and West Virginia Insurance Commissioner’s Office at (304) 414-0539.
You should accompany your application with a wage bond status affidavit. Contact the Division of Labor Wage & Hour Section at WageandHour@wv.gov to get this done. Lastly, you can pay the contractor license fee by check, money order, or credit card.
You need to prepare for two exam types regardless of your contractor classification. These are the Business Law exam and a trade exam. You’ll have to pass both exams to apply to the State Licensing Board.
You will have to meet the following requirements in order for your application to be accepted;
- Registered business.
- Federal Employer Identification Number.
- Surety bonds.
- Duly filled registration form.
- Business Tax information.
- Unemployment compensation insurance.
- Worker’s Compensation Policy Number.
- List of exams you’ve taken and passed.
Obtaining a West Virginia contractor’s license can be daunting. The good news is that Contractor Training Center can help you obtain your West Virginia contractor’s license stress-free.
So, start working towards obtaining your license today by speaking with a licensing expert from the Contractor Training Center today.